THAT KIND OF GUY

Hello, hello! I’m not much of a fan of the chicklit genre, but there’s an interesting new book released with the title of That Kind of Guy by no other than Mina V. Esguerra. If you don’t know, she is the author of the books Fairy Tale Fail, My Imaginary Ex, No Strings Attached, Love Your Frenemies, and Interim Goddess of Love. I’ve met her couple of times before and I admit that I haven’t totally read her books, but I heard a lot of raves from my fellow book bloggers. Actually, Mina’s stories are really catchy and relatable—really, I’m a woman after all. I don’t know, but I read the teaser of Love Your Frenemies and I found myself hooked! I was very disappointed when I was cut when the anticipated scene is going to take place. Okay, I promise to reinstall Kindle reader in my laptop since I have a copy of her book Fairy Tail Fail!

Anyway, she just revealed her new book this month with the title of That Kind of Guy, published by Summit. Check out the synopsis of the book:

That Kind of Guy
Good girl Julie never expected her hot former-player boyfriend to propose marriage. But when he did, she turned him down for reasons even she couldn’t figure out. Will she settle for a nice, safe guy instead? Or will she let him find his way back into her carefully guarded heart?
.
Well, the book actually made me think (aside from the giveaway) what is really my kind of guy? For sure, a reader like me have met pretty dreamy boys like Etienne St. Clair, Cricket Bell, Bryce Loski, Peeta Mellark, or Wes Baker. (I just noticed that they are all YA novel characters!) I think you can relate to me which one to choose because I don’t know who to choose! Also, there are also articles about why should I date a guy who reads, a guy who write, or even an illiterate guy.
So, what is really my kind of guy? I don’t have list of preference or ideal traits that I look for a guy because I already found him. He’s my Superman. Well, yeah, I’m praying that he is the one (and only) that God will give me to spend with the rest of my life (sounds cheesy, no? Haha). He may not be that dashing pretty boy with a British accent like Ettiene St. Clair, or that talented artist like Wes Baker. He may not have that chiseled abs like Michael Fassbender’s, or be a reader and writer like me, but you know, as long as the guy who’s after God’s own heart? That’s more than enough. I mean, he’s capable of loving just like what Jesus do and told us to do.
Since I don’t have specifics, I will just describe him  :)
  • He’s not perfect, neither I am. It’s cool because I learn from him that it’s okay to make mistakes and there are rooms for changes and improvement.
  • his amazing talent when he sings and plays the guitar.
  • his sense of humor is ridiculous!
  • He is caring and protective
  • Very hardworking and ma-effort
  • A gentleman
  • Family-oriented
  • A cheerful and generous giver
  • Born to lead (not Born This Way, lol)
  • He’s romantic and really, really corny :’>
  • Chubby! (Obviously, he’s a foodie like me!)

Well, that’s quite a list but I know it’s not all because I am yet to know him more. How about you? What is your kind of guy?

Mina V. Esguerra‘s books are available in leading bookstores nationwide, or you can get them from Mina’s Multiply store, Amazon, and Flipreads.

This entry was published on 11.04.12 at 12:01 am. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things, In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “THAT KIND OF GUY

  1. Aww so sweet that you wrote about your boyfriend. :) Hope you enjoy reading Mina’s books. I love how easy it is to relate to her characters.

    • Hi, Chachic! Thank you :) hope to find Mina’s book here (it’s quite hard to see her books in bookstores).

      PS: He’s not my boyfriend yet :)

  2. Wow! I don’t have any idea that you have a boyfriend already. I don’t know if I have to congratulate you for that. Haha. Anyway, I’m happy and hey I find your blog post interesting. I’m stalking again with your God-related-blog-posts again.

Leave a comment