Hey! I still have that child-like tendencies.

After a very long hiatus from blogging, I came back! I became a lazy butt for couple of weeks and I even stopped reading books! Well, I was quite busy because I was watching the 3 seasons of The Big Bang Theory which is a really hilarious TV series. No wonder I loved it.

By the way, I missed couple of books I’ve read to share with you guys! I got two books from my favorite children literature authors: L. Frank Baum and Roald Dahl!

I really love Frank M. Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and all of its movies.I grew up with it and I adore the Scarecrow! So I decided to hunt each of the books from its series. It’s quite hard because I really want the individual books with old vintage covers. Last month, I found my 7th book! It’s Dorothy and The Wizard in Oz. It’s the 4th book in the series and it’s about Dorothy again! She came to California to visit but unfortunately, she and her cousin, Zeb is swallowed by the cracks in the ground caused by the earthquake! They discovered an underground land of Mangaboos, which are not inhabited by people but of vegetables! Just then, a hot-air balloon came out from the sky and the wizard of Oz is in it! They decided to find ways how to go back to the surface of the earth, and the adventures together begins.

The book also covers the story from The Marvelous Land of Oz (books #2) and Ozma of Oz (book #3).

It’s a fun and easy read because it is solely written for children [hey, I’m still a kid!]. Aside from that, all of the books in the series I’ve read are unique and magical!

Last week, I visited the  Book Sale at SM Southmall and I’m suprised with the new stocks and the new location! It’s big too! So I didn’t waste any time to browse some of the titles. I found it quite hard to browse because it’s just new so the books are in chaos and disarranged. I was looking for some Orson Scott Card books but unfortunately, I can’t seem to find them. I ended up looking for some children’s and YA books which are in their respective sections. Then I saw a copy of Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl! YAY! I’m still collecting and looking Roald Dahl books though it is readily available in the leading book stores but I will not buy there because it’s expensive for me. Why should I buy there when I can find it in Book Sale? I totally love that store! Most of my Roald Dahl books came from there.

So I found it, a movie tie-in copy of Fantastic Mr. Fox. I wish I have the traditional cover [I don’t like movie covers – I always look for the copy with its original cover] but I’m still glad to have it. It’s about a family foxes living under the ground and this Mr. Fox steals chicken, ducks and turkeys each night from three mean and wealthy farmers: Boggis, Bunce, and Bean. These three farmers wanted to catch this little fox and kill it as well as the rest of the family. But they don’t know how fantastic and intelligent this fox is.

Book #51 Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz by Frank M. Baum

Book #52 Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl

 

This entry was published on 23.11.10 at 1:54 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Hey! I still have that child-like tendencies.

  1. Yay for finding such awesome finds at Booksale, my favorite bookstore, too! ^.^

    And yay for childhood revisited! :-)

Leave a comment