Daytripper by Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá

I stopped reading this June last year because I don’t understand what this book is trying to telling me. Every issue, someone dies and it is always the same person. I also got weirded out and bothered by Issue #6—the one when Jorge went away—that I stopped reading it altogether.

I picked it up again and started over. Things started to make sense to me. I like how this book made me feel it is real and the characters are alive when it all talks about is death. It is moving that in our lives, we can just come and go to die (surprise, surprise). Accidents may happen anytime and take everything away but what really matters? Did you really live your life? It made me rethink about my life and suddenly felt a bit scared. I haven’t really figured out what I really want, or what are my dreams, or if I have made something that had an impact to the lives of other people, or actually achieved something when I am working so hard. What do I really want out of life? I don’t really know and I never had the time to think about it. I never thought it is important to firugre it out and just go on with the flow. But what if I die now and I will never know my dreams or who will I be when I reached them? This book showed me that in every issue, someone dies and proves that he actually lived. That he was remembered by not only the things he had done, but also who he became through the years. (See also: Tricia on Quarter-Life Crisis)

I think Issue #7 is the saddest among the ten issues. I can feel the pang of pain and loss when I haven’t actually experienced losing someone dear to me. Damn it, that hurts. It is one of my favorites.

It is a short read and I fell in love with it. It is a dark, thought-provoking graphic novel, not because it talks about death but because it talks about life and its temporary state.

IMG_0833

Like I said above, it makes me feel as if the stories are alive because of the vibrant tropical colors. Kind of reminds me of Bob Marley.

Great art. Great read.

This entry was published on 12.10.14 at 12:11 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

