“Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

To be honest, I haven’t seen a single full episode of the TV series The Office, let alone be a fan of the series or Mindy Kaling. I didn’t even have any idea who Mindy Kaling is. The only time I got to know her that she was this and that was when I read her book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns). (Is it weird I find it funny how I knew about her while talking about her book? I don’t know, it sounds irrelevant and useless because obviously I will learn about her with her book because it’s her memoir! Duh.)

I found myself reading (and finishing) this book in the midst of 9 currently-reading books this month (Sorry, low EQ). I picked this up because I find the title highly relatable and awkward on my part. Also first line of first chapter made go bananas: “I don’t remember a time when I wasn’t chubby” Even if I don’t know Mindy Kaling, I thought that somehow, I was Mindy in my past life except I’m not Indian. I wasn’t stick-thin like those Victoria Secret models except when I was an infant and how I was bullied in school, too (well, not because I am an Indian, but because I am such a goody-goody back then). I find Mindy hilarious because she makes fun of the what she was, had done, and experienced when she was a kid. It shows that she is a really smart strong woman and I admire her for that.

Like other people, reading a memoir, we expect how one became successful in their line of work. Mindy works as a comedy writer and producer for the TV series, The Office. It’s a big time position and it takes skills to be up there. Mindy never stopped to achieve what she wants. (Also: she’s obsessed with anything comedy. That kind of passion is inspiring!). There were times I think that I should pursue a life as a comedian but changed my mind. I suddenly remembered The Joker’s backstory in the graphic novel The Killing Joke by Alan Moore. It’s scary and all. (Also: I am corny *sad face*).

Things I learned from Mindy:

  1. Obeseotron: A nickname you give to someone you adore who has just stepped on your foot accidentally, and it hurts. Alternatively, a fat robot. (and other terms to range the fat-ness of one person)
  2. Joey Fatone’s last name was going to be “Fat One” no matter how great he was.
  3. Chest hair is important.
  4. Fashion (found in When You’re Not Skinny, This Is What People Want You To Wear chapter)
  5. How it is a-okay to share horribly, horribly narcissistic photos (sometimes, it is really funny to see those pictures!)

I only got bored in some parts because she used a lot of references of different comedy shows in America. I am not really much into watching TV series religiously but I saw a couple of SNL episodes and that’s it. Anyway, it is still a good fun read. Mindy Kaling is hilarious but not that overly-hilarious like David Sedaris. Just the right amount.

This entry was published on 27.02.13 at 4:00 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on ““Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

  1. Obeseotron reminds me of Sniglets!

  2. Pingback: Required Reading 2013: March Away! | In Lesbians with Books

  3. Pingback: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? | I Like It Dog-Eared

Leave a Reply

