F2F7: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro + more!

Look at how gorgeous we were that night.

Last 28th of July, I had an amazing night with my friends from The Filipino Group (Goodreads) where we had our book discussion of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Remains of the Day and the celebration for Kuya Doni’s birthday. Since the book is based in England, we were required to attend the said event in a semi/formal wear (Ha! That made me wear a dress. Which I don’t wear really often. I felt weird wearing a skirt around many people. Yep, I look like a grandma that night).

The night was long and let the pictures tell the story:


Well, no, don’t ask, really, why I look like this on this picture. The point is, I’m sitting beside my favorite local comic artist—MANIX ABRERA. Actually, I met him already last 2009 during my first Komikon but nothing beats this! I was able to talk to him about his comics.

I was Manix and his wife’s personal butler (entertainer doesn’t sound right) for the night. I tried my best to be a good one and I think I overdid it. I BECAME TOO TALKATIVE THAT NIGHT but I think Manix enjoyed the company of the whole group.

I sent him a message the next day (yep, I’m that creep of a fan):

Since we have guest authors for this momentous event, we had Q&A for them with Jzhun and Ella.


The discussion proper. Can you believe how Angus prepared all these stuff?! In fairness to the questions, they were brain hemorrhage-inducing. Haha! It was touching how he collated our personal stories into one book: After the Birthday Party.



And thanks to KUYA DONI for making all these things possible! A very supportive moderator, great kuya, a voracious reader, and our role model Tatay. Happy birthday!

Tell me again why I love this book club :)

Whoops! Photo credits: Ella and Tina :)

This entry was published on 24.08.12 at 1:22 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Attend Book-related Events and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

7 thoughts on “F2F7: The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro + more!

  1. Winner talaga ang poise ni Jzhun sa interview nya with Manix! Haay, nainggit na naman ako. Hope to see you sometime soon, Tricia! :)

  2. Nooo! You didn’t look like a grandma. And sorry for the brain-bleeders, hahaha. You can always make ganti on your show. :D

  3. petersandico on said:

    Hi, Tricia! I was sitting next to Manix during the Readers’ Choice Awards. I didn’t talk with him or anything as I haven’t read any of his novels. Awkward lang. Hahahahaha.

  4. Pingback: #TFGat4: Italo Calvino F2F Book Discussion + Amazing Race at UP Diliman Anniversary Edition | In Lesbians with Books

  5. Pingback: #TFGat4: Italo Calvino F2F Book Discussion + Amazing Race at UP Diliman Anniversary Edition | In Lesbians with Books

Leave a Reply

