“It is not despair, for despair is only for those who see the end beyond all doubt. We do not.” ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

I’ve always plan every year to read JRR Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings Trilogy. I mean, really, one should have at least read one high-fantasy book in his life or just this popular high fantasy series of all time, but alas, it took me long years before I decided to challenge myself into reading this series. I never thought I will be able to read them because 1) The book is thick. Man, if one book is already thick, what are three books?! 2) Its high fantasy theme looks intimidating and epistaxis-inducing. Just looking at cover makes me want to rush to the blood bank. 3) There are film adaptations (even cartoons) already available to watch—which I already saw in the cinema way back ten years ago (!) and of course, I don’t remember any of it because I slept the whole time (I know, what a waste). Also, remember the time when girls were screaming their teenage hormones at Legolas?  4) Uhm, yeah, it’s too long.

Well? Boo-yah, I read the book(s)! I didn’t have any choice but to read it because it is the book club’s book of the month (June) and I have to read it for the Face-to-Face (F2F) discussion. Of course, I REGRET NOTHING. I fell in-love with the series! It marvels me how JRR Tolkien created this alternative world of Middle-Earth complete with it’s maps, histories, legends, folk-lore, myths, magic, and even its own language! It completely sent me into a new world where it made me appreciate love, friendship, loyalty, and nature. This series is surprisingly easy to read. I started reading then I didn’t realize that I was actually enjoying the adventures and poof! I’m already onto the second book, Two Towers. The book is really absorbing and enjoyable. It’s like you are one of the Company.

There’s one time I was walking on the home, for the first time, I was able to appreciate the beauty of the limited nature in the city. The blue sky and clouds, the trees, and the chirping birds, just like the ones found in the world of Middle-Earth. It’s one thing I love about JRR Tolkien, he described the nature to its fullest beauty. It has its own magic that will charm us if we give them our attention.

Though I said it is really an enjoyable read, I am yet to finish the last book, The Return of the King. I found myself impatient of how they prepare for the war with Sauron and I got distracted by other books. But for sure, I’ll go back finish it before the year ends.

This entry was published on 09.07.12 at 6:18 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

