F2F: Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

Last June 23, we had our 7th Face-to-Face book discussion for JRR Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring. We had it at Gandiva Cafe and Archery Range and a lot of our members went (and even the newbies!). The discussion was led by no other than Maria of Reading is the Ultimate Aphrodisiac!

LOTR trilogy was the book series that I never thought I’ll read just because it is TOO LONG and will possibly give me epistaxis because of it’s high fantasy theme. I was wrong. The series was awesome and enjoyable to read! I even managed to get into the third book without having an actual epistaxis. It isn’t actually hard to read, only the names of the characters.

We had fun with the discussion and the questions are really hard O.O Good thing that I picked the easiest question in the lot. Haha! I was impressed with the knowledge these LOTR fans have. It just amazes me how JRR Tolkien created a whole alternative world of the Middle-Earth!

I left after the discussion and miss the post-discussion basagan and tambay because I have to be back South to celebrate my brother’s birthday. We didn’t had archery that day because 1) the range slot was full; 2) the fee is expensive; 3) we’d rather buy food and books.

The TFG picture!

Of course, when you attend the discussion, it’s always a gain. I actually felt ashamed of selling my books to them then I get free books (but really, I need to save up for that Nook Simple Touch with Glowlight!). I got these books from them:

  • The Uncommon Reader by Alan Bennet – borrowed from Emir
  • The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro – borrowed from Emir
  • A Pale View of Hills by Kazuo Ishiguro – bought online
  • The Complete Maus by Art Spiegelman – borrowed from Miss Ronnie
  • The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde – from Ingrid
  • Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell – from Atty Monique
  • Stories: All-New Tales (edited) by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio – bought from Celina
This entry was published on 29.06.12 at 3:27 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Attend Book-related Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “F2F: Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

  1. I can see Ender’s Game! :D

Leave a Reply

