BOOK OF THE MONTH [2]

Hello, hello! How are you today, my dear readers? I hope you are doing fine. It’s a lovely day today, isn’t? It has been raining for days and it’s my preferred weather to flop down on my bed with a good book and a hot chocolate drink. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to enjoy the cold weather at home because life things are on the way. Let me share something about what happened three days ago; I went to Makati City for an interview and  it was raining cats and dogs outside. I can’t really brave the rain for I don’t want to look like a basang sisiw (wet chick) for the interview so I was forced to stay for an hour at a coffee shop. I’m not really a fan of expensive coffee, but I was left with no choice. I had a good time in a cozy place with the company of a good book.

Anyway, I started reading the classic novel our book club is reading for the month of April. It’s been a while since I last read a classic novel! We’re going to read and discuss Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë/Currer Bell and I’m excited for it because I find it really good! Shame on me because it is my first time to read the book; I never tried before because I find it intimidating and I’m not a fan of romantic novels (yep, I haven’t read a single Austen book—don’t judge! I’m going to read them this year).

I’ve been absent for three consecutive months of our Face-to-Face discussion, but I do my best to at least participate with the buddy reads and online discussions. Hoping again that I will be able to join the discussion because it is going to be moderated by my lovely friend, Tina of One More Page and she’s going to bake cupcakes (!!!).

I’m almost halfway reading the book and I find it really good because:

  • I love Brontë’s narrative; so far, I’m not having hard time reading it even if the prose is sometimes flowery.
  • It’s written in first person POV.
  • Even if I was spoiled about the story when I read Jasper Fforde’s The Eyre Affair, I still appreciate the story and I’m loving Jane Eyre’s strong character.
  • GIRL POWER
  • YOU GO, JANE!
  • The first few chapters reminds me of A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett—a personal favorite.
  • I was smitten at the first sight of Mr. Rochester’s name.
  • EDWARD ROCHESTER
  • EDWARD ROCHESTER
  • EDWARD ROCHESTER
  • EDWARD ROCHESTER
  • EDWARD ROCHESTER

I should shut up now and go back reading :)

This entry was published on 31.03.12 at 4:23 am. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “BOOK OF THE MONTH [2]

  1. Hahaha I knew it! My baking skills will be put to test for this. But if it means you’ll be there, then fine. :P

  2. Pingback: THIS WEEK IN PICTURES [1]: BEING A FAT BUSY BEE | In Lesbians with Books

Leave a Reply

