“Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.” ― Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

What are you going to do if the planet where you live exploded by ugly and mean space creatures? Me, I don’t know what to do, that’s why I grabbed this book by Douglas Adam for help!

DON’T PANIC

Arthur Dent is a human being living alone in a nice house in the middle of a field (was it a field? It looks like a field) and his house was about to be demolished because the government said that they’ll be building a bypass. Dent lied in front of his house to stop it, but his best friend, Ford, weirdly asked him to go to the nearest pub to drink 6 pint of bitter liquid in the middle of the day and told him that world is going to end in few minutes. Well, yeah, Dent’s house was demolished, and the Earth… was surrounded by this yellow things in the sky and poof! goes the Earth. Ford and Dent found themselves in a dark vessel which happened to be an alien ship, the one who destroyed the Earth, and what a luck they have, it belongs to the meanest and ugliest space creature in the universe, the Vogons. Hitchhiking isn’t allowed (esp to the Vogon ships) so before they were thrown out of the ship, they have to listen and lost their minds listening to Vogon poetry. If you don’t know how devastating you’ll feel if you listened, don’t imagine it. They survived, but they were thrown out of the ship… to the outer space… no oxygen… FYI: you can stay alive for 30 seconds in space, but what a luck they have, they hitchhiked another ship. Well, that’s the start of Arthur Dent’s life as a hitchhiker in the Galaxy.

IT’S MY FIRST TIME TO READ A BOOK FROM DOUGLAS ADAMS. I will not read it until the book club I’m a member of has chosen this as the book for this month. I was expectant that it is a really funny book because friends told me so. It looks like one so I didn’t hesitate to buy that Omnibus online (I’m impulsive like that), and started reading right away.

At first, I was having hard time picking up the humor. It’s British humor, so sometimes, it takes a lot of neurons and neurotransmitters to understand it plus there are VERY GEEKY AND NERDY SENTENCES THAT I CANNOT COMPREHEND. People call me NERD, but not totally this way! I enjoy sci-fi, yes, but I suck at science (boo, I didn’t like Physics, though I love Chemistry). Anyway, I didn’t give up reading and HOORAY, I finally picked up the humor when I met Marvin and Zaphod Beeblebrox. Man, these two are the most annoying characters I met while reading. There are times I want to punch the hell out of Zaphod’s faces. I’ll alternate punching them!

The book is definitely fun to read, but WHAT A CLIFFHANGER. Good thing, I have the whole series to read. Hooray!

This entry was published on 23.03.12 at 1:38 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on ““Space is big. You just won’t believe how vastly, hugely, mind-bogglingly big it is. I mean, you may think it’s a long way down the road to the chemist’s, but that’s just peanuts to space.” ― Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy

  1. 42!

    I too enjoyed reading the hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy! Though, I still have not finished the whole series.

Leave a Reply

