BOOK OF THE MONTH [1]

In the book club I am a member of, we are having Face-to-Face book discussions now every month. We only started this year and we are aiming to be consistent about F2F discussions. Anyway, I was absent for last two discussions because I was busy with family and work; this month, I want to join the discussion because I haven’t read the book yet but I’ve been meaning to so I bought myself a copy of the book online.

The Book of the Month is Douglas Adams’ The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, and because of my impulsiveness, instead of the first book, I bought an omnibus (pictured above). This will be my first participation in a book discussion with the whole group. Hope I can catch up because I’m such a slow reader.

I started reading, but still not getting the humor. I know I can’t judge the book when I’m only at the first three chapters. I’m just, like, is thi—I guess I should shut up and reserve my comments after reading the book. Have you guys read this book already? What do you think about it?

We’re having the discussions online so if you want to join, visit the TFG thread on GoodReads! See you there :)

This entry was published on 09.03.12 at 6:03 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “BOOK OF THE MONTH [1]

  1. Fantastic books, all of them. True to Adams’ style, the omnibus I bought was called a Trilogy in Five Parts!

    • I have yet to read the next books to appreciate the 1st! The cliffhanger had a terrible effect on me, I need to read the next book ASAP

  2. British humor (or humour? haha) at its finest, I guess? It reminds me a bit of Jasper Fforde’s humor without the meta-ness of the text. :) I am so slow reading it though — too much distracted over other things. :P

    Hope to see you on the 25th, Tricia. :)

    • I can’t agree with you more. Comparing to Fforde’s humor, I easily picked up his than Adams haha

      Hoping to go on Saturday to see you! If not, on April :)

  3. Monique on said:

    Ah, the first book in 3 months that I’m actually not interested in. *hangs head in shame* Guess I’m going to sit this one out.

    Excited for the April book discussion, though! (It’s Jane Eyre!)

Leave a Reply

