The Filipino Group-GoodReads Christmas Party 2011

Last Saturday, I unusually woke up early for the Christmas Party with the Goodreads people. I love them so much that I want to be early because I have to leave early (I have another party to attend down the South. Crazy, I know!). We had the informal party at Eton Centris where we ate lunch and enjoyed introducing ourselves (*waves at newbies*).

We had lunch at Pho Hoa but I ended eating waffles because I don’t like to eat vegetables for lunch. I wasn’t able to finish the waffles, too. (Haha! I was too tensed to eat that time. Friends are teasing me to someone! Haha!)

We had nice introductions and discussion (The Pillars of the Earth with Jzhun!). Also, we mentioned our Best and Worst books read in 2011. Here’s mine (copied from the Goodreads thread):

Best books read for 2011 (not in order!)
1. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro – made me teary-eyed, broke my heart into pieces.
2. Pillars of The Earth by Ken Follett – DO I HAVE TO EXPLAIN WHY
3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – Hee <3
4. The Thursday Next Series by Jasper Fforde – Explanation not needed lol
5. 1984 by George Orwell – Very dystopian!
6. Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
7. The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey – CREEPY! Yancey’s prose alone creeps the hell out of me.
8. Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Justin – It’s like Wizard of Oz x Alice in Wonderland adventure.
9. Paper Towns by John Green – The book slapped me realizations relevant to my life.
10. Batman: Mad Love and Other Stories by Bruce Timm and Paul Dini – BECAUSE I LOVE HARLEY QUINN, OKAY?
Addendum: 11. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick – I just read it and man, I AM LOST FOR WORDS. I love how Selznick made my imagination fly with the moon and the stars.

Worst Books read for 2011
1. I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore – For real, the writing is horrible, the romance is forced, the story is ridiculous. No offense to fans
2. Dopple Ganger Chronicles: Volume 1 by G.P. Taylor – Seriously, what’s the point of the story? The escape?
3. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs – It’s good sana but it lost me when the mystery was revealed.
4. Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy – Not realistic, IDK. hehe
5. Choke by Chuck Palahniuk – The prose is beautiful but the story annoyed me too much.
6. Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan – I just don’t like it. Maybe I expected too much after reading the Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (which I really love).

(but the books I mentioned during the party was Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett (best), Choke by Chuck Palahniuk (worst) and I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore (worst)).

It’s not yet the end of 2011 and I am not yet completed with my reading challenge, so this list is subjected to change :)

After that, we had GIFT-GIVING! I am overwhelm with the fact that I received BOOK gifts from friends. I feel so loved:

  • I still have Tina‘s and Jzhun‘s gifts unopened because I will open them on Christmas.
  • Sheryl is my Kris Kringle Mommy and I nearly cried when I excitedly opened the gift: Roland Barthes’ Lover’s Discourse! I’ve been wanting to have the books because Tin is raving about it on Twitter.
  • The Sabriel by Garth Nix was given to me by Monique! My The Old Kingdom Trilogy by Garth Nix is now complete and it’s all TPB editions! Look at this.
  • Star Wars Movies 1-7 DVD (not in the picture) from Aaron
  • Faith keychain (not in the picture) from Kwesi

Before leaving that morning, my mother warned me on the number of book I plan to bring home. She said, no more free books because it is heavy to carry from North to South. So, I didn’t get any free books (also because I wasn’t able to join the games to win one) but I borrowed some:

  • The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick from Monique (!!!)
  • The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon from the Traveling Book (a tour with GR friends)
  • Saving Francesca and Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta from Joyzi and Veneficus.

I was saddened because I have to leave early by 3PM because I have another party to attend to down the South. I missed the games but I am so happy to meet them again for a few hours. Until next time! I LOVE YOU, GUYS!

Photo Credit (GR-TFG group shot): Joyzi

This entry was published on 19.12.11 at 1:39 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Attend Book-related Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “The Filipino Group-GoodReads Christmas Party 2011

  1. Yiheeeeeee. :D Okay shutting up nao. :)

    Merry Christmas Tricia! :)

  2. Yehey for A Lover’s Discourse! HAHAHA, may you have the same experience that I had / still having. I’m not even halfway through the book because I wanted the pages and words to last me long. :s

  3. And who might be that person they are teasing you with? Sorry, I was at the far end of the table. :D

Leave a Reply

