“Each night I lie down in a graveyard of memories. Moonlight spins a shroud about me. ” ― Jerry Spinelli, Love, Stargirl

I’ve read Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli last July and it made me my heart break into thousands of pieces. Seriously, guys, the book is so heartbreaking to the last page. It’s not really surprising if you find yourself weeping at the end of the book and makes you want to read the next book, Love, Stargirl.

Almost four months of trying to forget about Stargirl. I am forever curious what the heck happened to her after. I love her so much and the pain of losing her like a friend is still here and I’m overjoyed when I finally read the book.

Love, Stargirl is about Stargirl’s life after leaving Arizona (Mica High School). This is where we hear Stargirl speaks about her life, her thoughts, her bittersweet memories, her feelings for Leo, why she is like this, like that. The book is written in a diary-like format, day-to-day journal entries where Stargirl is writing what happened to that day and she keeps on saying that this is the “the world’s longest letter” for Leo Borlock.

I don’t know, I fail to notice the Stargirl I met in the first book. She isn’t that queer and weird and joyful like she is in the first book. She isn’t good as a narrator compared to Leo in the first book. Maybe because she is so sad and lonely about what happened and also recalling those bittersweet memories pains her so much. Her feelings are evident because her happy wagon dropped to almost one pebble. My heartbreaks when I read that Stargirl is so sad.

“Live today.”
“Yes. Live today. Not yesterday. Not tomorrow. Just today. Inhabit your moments. Don’t rent them out to tomorrow. Do you know what you’re doing when you spend a moment wondering how things are going to turn out with Perry?”
“What am I doing?”
“You’re cheating yourself out of today. Today is calling to you, trying to get your attention, but you’re stuck on tomorrow, and today trickles away like water down a drain. You wake up the next morning and that today that you wasted is gone forever. It’s now yesterday. Some of those moments may have had wonderful things in store for you, but now you’ll never know.”

What I love about this book is that it shows Stargirl the people who are also sad and afraid of their lives. She serves as the mover in their lives. I love how dedicated Stargirl in helping these people—Dootsie, Alvina, Perry, Betty Lou—to change, face their fears. She made her sadness and feeling of rejection into something productive, she make herself the one to love and accept other people so they wouldn’t experience what she went through. Also, the value of relationships. I am surprised how Stargirl have become to be good friend to the agoraphobic Betty Lou, grumpy Alvina, annoying Dootsie, and Perry the thief. Their friendship is amazing. They are always there for each other and wow, I am not mistaken how good Stargirl as a friend! She may not be accepted and loved by the people in Mica High School but she is definitely loved in this book. People loved her so much (even in the midst of her sorrowful, sorrowful memories and feelings).

“Our hearts yearn backward. We long to be found, hoping our searchers have not given up and gone home. But I no longer hope to be found. Do not follow me! Let’s just be fabulously where we are and who we are. You be you and I’ll be me, today and today and today, and let’s trust the future to tomorrow. Let the stars keep track of us. Let us ride our own orbits and trust they will meet. May our reunion be not a finding but a sweet collision of destinies! ”

I wonder if Leo and Stargirl will ever meet? I wonder if Jerry Spinelli will write another book for it? I want to know but there’s something inside me that doesn’t want to know, too. I am sincerely hoping that Stargirl is doing okay now (Sorry, I still think she’s a real person).

Love, Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Bookmarks: 3.5/5

This entry was published on 02.12.11 at 1:30 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

