“And that’s just it, isn’t it? That’s how we manage to survive the loss. Because love, it never dies, it never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it.” ― Gayle Forman, If I Stay

EVERYTHING CAN CHANGE IN A SPLIT SECOND. EVERYTHING CAN BE GONE FOREVER IN A BLINK OF AN EYE. Mia and her family was on the way to visit their grandparents to spend the day-off due to heavy snow fall. They planned everything. Mia felt so happy about it. She wants it more than her first love, practicing her cello. It’s her family she’s with, they’re complete, and they’re going to visit the grandparents. Her life may not be that perfect but she felt that moment that it’s perfect that she’s spending her day with the whole family. But—I know! It’s so…—the whole family was caught in a car accident. She saw her father’s brain scattered down the road, her mom instantly died because she was the first to be hit by the truck, and Teddy, was gone, too. Mia saw it all before her eyes and then, she looks down her body, she didn’t even have a scratch. She wants to feel something, she’s supposed to be sad, to be angry, to cry but she’s void of emotions. Suddenly, she saw a body lying down the edge of the street, wearing the same clothes she’s wearing that day, almost dead and soaked with blood.

This. No matter how much I hate crying when I’m reading a book, it turned on the waterworks. This book. I don’t know what to say because I HAVE TOO MANY FEELINGS ABOUT IT. It’s very moving and heartbreaking. How could Forman do this to Mia? I mean, she’s so happy that day and then poof! they’re all gone. I felt the hopelessness she had when she knew about the loss of her family. She loss the will to live. There came a time that she wants to give up. “I’m not sure this is a world I belong in anymore. I’m not sure that I want to wake up.” If she lived, where is her family? Where will she turn to? Ugh. Look, this sucks, I can feel the sadness and hopelessness seeping out of the book. Damn it. It made me cry so much because it’s so hard. “I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.” In my personal experience, I never had someone close in my family died so I don’t know how I will react on it but while reading this book? Damn it. IT HURTS A LOT. Mia have lost her family but her best friend Kim, her grandparents, her relatives, her Adam, her cello and music helped her. It’s true that people in coma hear the people who talk to them (because the sense of hearing is the last one to stay). The love they have for Mia, that makes her feel alive, that made her decide if she will stay or not. Life is so much more when there are people who loves you. Think about your parents, your brothers and sisters, friends. Isn’t worth it to give a life a second chance for them? Good gods, brb crying.

On the bright side, I totally love Adam. He may be a punk-rock guy from a punk band—I have a big hate on this kind of character. IDK, may be it’s Stephanie Perkins’ fault—but you see, he’s not those kinds who play on nerdy girls or have sex with anyone. This Adam is so sincere and honest with his feelings. I never met such character that will just barge in the ICU just to see his beloved girlfriend. I WANT MY OWN ADAM, YO.

It may have the same out-of-the-body-experience-death-coma thing that The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold has, but do NOT compare. They are different. This book is so good. It is easy to read but there’s always a tug in the heart while reading it. Have your tissues with you while reading it. I am still readying myself before reading the second book, Where She Went. I don’t want to have another emotional breakdown without coping with this one.

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Bookmarks: 4/5

This entry was published on 03.11.11 at 12:56 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on ““And that’s just it, isn’t it? That’s how we manage to survive the loss. Because love, it never dies, it never goes away, it never fades, so long as you hang on to it.” ― Gayle Forman, If I Stay

  1. YAY! We have the same rating. :D Read Where She Went na!!! :D

Leave a Reply

