“…slow and drunk is no match for fast and scared shitless.” ― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

When I first saw this book online, it gave me a cold feeling down my spine. It’s so creepy that the child on the cover is looking directly at me. The title is attention-catchy, too. It has so much potential that I want to buy it ASAP but of course, I am on a book-buying ban for weeks already. Good thing my cousin has a copy of this book and lent it to me.

The book started off great, so great with a BANG! It got me hooked with the mystery that envelopes the story (I mean, more mysterious than the title itself!). I love the way Riggs included those creepy vintage photographs within the book. It’s so creepy that I have to close the book and forget about it! (HEY, don’t judge! It’s not really my fault if I’m a scaredy-cat. Okay, fine, it’s my fault). I think Riggs’ idea of the picture is genius, it made the book much more interesting than without it. The story is one big mystery, why grandpa Abe Portman is acting like a psychotic madman while he tells his stories to Jacob. These stories about a house in an island where peculiar children lives. PECULIAR CHILDREN. That got me hooked. There is something in that story about peculiar kids that got me reading. I dunno, maybe because it is a mystery book so it’s obvious why.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was. Likewise, I never imagined that home might be something I would miss.”

I can still remember the creepy feeling I had when I was reading the book but that didn’t last long. I know, that sucks but really, it didn’t last long. The mystery behind the house and the peculiar children was revealed too early (I know, this should be my benefit since I am so excited to know about it but meh) and I find the ‘the loop’ a genius and ridiculous at the same time. I mean, it’s genius because it is unexpected and it reminds me of Thursday Next and the ChronoGuards! The ‘the loop’ is the way how Miss Peregrine controls time and be stuck in a certain day over and over again. That’s why these peculiar kids don’t look like their ages. Sometimes, I suspect that Miss Peregrine is a ChronoGuard in disguise.

“We cling to our fairy tales until the price for believing in them becomes too high.”

I find it ridiculous because the book suddenly turned into a sci-fi! Riggs even used the words ‘Time Travel’. But that isn’t the case why I didn’t like the book, it’s because of the the involvement of monsters called wights and hollowgast in the story. I dunno, the story seems juvenile to me. Those ‘monsters-are-here-to-kill-you’ story is too juvenile for my taste. (Not that I am what you call a very experienced reader but I expected something better than this! Or maybe it is made for juvenile readers. I can’t tell). Also, the imagery failed me. I had hard time imagining what the heck these monsters look like. GAH, it didn’t scare me. It may not be a scary horror book but it didn’t give me the effect this book should give. I am more scared with the Peculiars.

“Because we weren’t like other people. We were peculiar.”
“Peculiar how?”
“Oh, all sorts of ways,” he said. “There was a girl who could fly, a boy who had bees living inside him, a brother and sister who could lift boulders over their heads.”

Anyway, I like the idea of these peculiars. They are different and unique from each other. They are also cool. Their abilities are something I am curious of since the start of the book. What made them peculiar? What Abe and Jacob have that made them peculiar? And one by one, Riggs told me through words and photographs but I’m confused. They are children, right? But why those photographs show teenagers? Not that I’m complaining but you know, something isn’t right.

The story ended with a cliffhanger. That means, there will be a second installment of the book. If so, hope Riggs make it better this time.

Update: So the book was going to be a movie in the future by Tim Burton.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Bookmarks: 2.5/5

This entry was published on 02.11.11 at 5:36 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on ““…slow and drunk is no match for fast and scared shitless.” ― Ransom Riggs, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

  1. OMG!the moment I saw this book & trailer I was like :O
    it’s very interesting indeed thanks for sharing your thoughts I’d love to read this but for the meantime it’s in my TBR GR pile lol :)) oh and what peculiar talent would you like to have? ^_^

Leave a Reply

