A Very Dorky Update on Books

So, it’s been two weeks since I updated this blog! September was one heck busy of a month—hospital and corporate duties,  Pinoy ReaderCon, Manila International Book Fair (but most of my time were eaten by hospital duties!) that I wasn’t able to open my laptop for weeks! How I badly miss my laptop and of course, blogging.

Anyway, the Filipino Reader Convention was a success! I learned a lot from the panelists about book clubs and blogging. Were you guys there? Hope you were! If you didn’t make it, there are videos posted at the Pinoy ReaderCon site! You should watch them!

Another thing is the BOOK FAIR! It’s Christmas in September! Heaven for book lovers and readers on Earth! I looked like an idiot grinning at the first step inside the SMX Convention. BOOKS EVERYWHERE! I bagged too many books this year compared to the last years! Also, I met with my friends from GoodReads! Yep, missed them so much!

(Photo grabbed from Cary! L-R: Rollie, Maria, JL, Jzhun, Ingrid, Aaron, Celina, Tina, Ariel, Charles, Me, Marie, Joyzi, Cary, Po and Vim at Oki-Oki; 9-18-11; Kwesi and Alona were missing)

Here’s the book haul from the book fair!

  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Sexing the Cherry by Jeanette Winterson
  • Billionaire Boys Club: Zech Marquez by Sonia Francesca (Precious Hearts Romance) – Yep, read that right! Kristel recommended me this. Ha-ha.
  • Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman: 24 Stories by Haruki Murakami
  • Guys Write for Guys Read by Jon Scieszka
  • Abhorsen by Garth Nix
  • When We Were Very Young by A.A. Milne, Illustrated by Ernest Shepard
  • The Neddiad by Daniel Manus Pinkwater
  • The Doppel Ganger Chronicles: Volume 1 by G.P. Taylor (thanks to OMF lit for the copy and the I Read shirt!)
  • Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman
  • Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett
  • Behemoth by Scott Westerfield
  • Batman: Mad Love and Other Stories by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm

Then the second pile (right) are the books I got from GoodReads friends!

  • Shadow of the Hegemon (Ender’s Shadow Series #2) by Orson Scott Card – the one I stole from Maria. I love you forever, Maria!
  • After the Quake by Haruki Murakami- from Blooey (also got a Harry Potter Golden Snitch keychain and a bookmark from her!)
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince by JK Rowling – the book I’m missing in the series! Got this from Vim!
  • The Disputable History of Franki Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart – from Celina!
  • Something Rotten by Jasper Fforde – birthday gift from Celina!

Also, I received two books via mail!

Forgotten by Cat Patrick (thanks to Kai from AmaterasuReads for this ARC)

You Shall Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers! My first Dave Eggers book (if the book The Best American NonRequired Reading 2007 doesn’t count—he’s the Editor!)

Since August, I wasn’t able to write anything about the books I’ve read! Most of my posts are about the Filipino Reader Convention and Filipino Friday! I didn’t stop reading while being busy with work so, here are the books I’ve read since the month of August (plus Stephanie Perkins’ Lola and the Boy Next Door!)

Have you read any books I mentioned? Did you like it? Hate it? Love it? Let me know!

This entry was published on 06.10.11 at 12:38 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Attend Book-related Events, In Which I Splurged Money On Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “A Very Dorky Update on Books

  1. Pingback: Hello, new books! | In Lesbians with Books

Leave a Reply

