READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY [WEEK 4]: Do you read Filipino Literature?


Filipino Friday is a weekly meme used by Filipino Book Bloggers to discuss more about book they read, the events and happenings that affect the world of literature. For now, as a part of an upcoming event, we are using this meme to promote the upcoming The Filipino Reader Convention on September 14 and to promote the Filipino Readers.

AREN’T YOU EXCITED, GUYS?  The Filipino Reader Convention is twelve (12) days away! Anyway, it’s the 4th week of Filipino Friday! Here’s what we are talking about: Do you read Filipino literature? If you do, tell us your favorite books by Filipino authors and name a few that you’d like to recommend to fellow readers. If you don’t read much Filipino lit, then tell us why.

If there’s one thing I’m guilty of, it’s not reading Filipino books. I mean, those Filipino novels. I don’t know why I don’t pick them or ignore them when I am in a book store. Maybe because they’re always there and will never be gone so I just keep on ignoring them. Don’t judge me totally because I did read Filipino literature! Of course, Ibong Adarna, Florante at Laura, Noli Me Tangere and El Filibusterismo are not included since it’s a reading requirement during high school. I remember enjoying Ibong Adarna and El Fili a lot.

I have a very limited knowledge about Filipino literature but I read a lot of our local comics :) I recommend you these (and they’re available in major book stores in the Philippines!):

1. Trese by Budjette Tan and Kajo Baldissimo. A graphic novel series about this trio, an awesome, kick-arse Alexandra Trese and her partners, the Kambal. They are to solve crimes and mysteries here and in the underworld. Full of classical creatures and mythology such as manananggals and kapres! Full-pack of actions and fighting scenes that will make you gasp for air!

2. Elmer by Gerry Alanguilan. Being known now worldwide and nominated for Eisner Award for 2011, how could you not read this? It’s about Jake Gallo. He’s a very angry man but if you read more about it, you’ll discover that he’s a… chicken. One of the entertaining and hilariously funny graphic novel I’ve read! And yes, Gerry Alanguilan is a one hilarious and funny person, tho sometimes he looks scary when he looks at you. HAHA (Yep! I met him twice during Summer Komikon, UP Diliman).

3. KikoMachine Komix by Manix Abrera. Discovered witty comic strips collected in one book during the summer of 2006. I don’t understand why it took time for people to discover such good funny comics that time. Most of the stories are about college life in University of the Philippines (that’s where Manix studied Fine Arts) and talks about funny experience in cramming thesis papers, acquaintance parties, isaw and street foods and annoyingly funny friends! Also, Manix Abrera is a cool guy! He’s the lead guitarist of the band KikoMachine and Brit-pop-inspired band, Gorgoro.

4. Ang Kagila-gilalas na Pakikipagsapalaran ni Zsazsa Zaturnnah by Carlo Vergara. A National Book Award winner in 2003. It’s about a superheroine. Or superhero? I don’t know! Ada, a beautician by day, superheroine by night! Received a big rock from the night sky and her friend, Didi, jokingly suggested to shallow the rock and will make her a superhero! Ta-da! Ada is transformed being a woman. With superpowers. To fight the big frogs, zombies and the Amazonas! If you’re going to read this, brace your self with hilarious line and scenes! (Read this book a lot of times and it doesn’t fail to make me laugh!). Anyway, I’m excited for the next installment of the book! ZsaZsa Zaturnnah sa Kalakhang Maynila! You can read the first pages here.

5. The Filipino Heroes League by Paolo Fabregas. We always see a solo superhero fighting bad guys such as the LastikMan and Captain Barbell but there is not a group of superheroes like the Justice League of America! Worry not but here comes the Filipino Heroes League! They may not have those high-ended-gadgets but they can save the Filipinos and fight crimes! Also, they have a pedicab. Which so cool, right?

Aside from that, I read:

6. Tall Story by Candy Gourlay. It’s a cool children’s literature with touch of Filipino mythology. Have you had a brother who is more than, what, eight-feet tall? And then you, very small kid? It’s a story about relationships, families and tall people.

7. Dogeaters by Jessica Hagedorn. A fiction story that has similar scenes during the Martial Law. One of the books I loved and appreciated. Gave me a wave of nostalgia of what Philippines were during that time. Very classic!

8. Unang Ulan ng Mayo by Ellen Sicat. First Filipino book written in Tagalog that I’ve ever read (except Bob Ong. I don’t include them). Her stories of how she became to love the Filipino language and writing. It made me love more our language!

And, due to rave reviews from book blogger friends, I am still looking for copies of

1. Mina V. Esguerra’s My Imaginary Ex, No Strings Attached, Fairy Tale Fail and Love Your Frenemies.

2. Samantha Sotto‘s Before Ever After

3. Arnold Arre‘s Andong Agimat, Martial Law Babies, Private Iris and Mythology Class!

4. Carljoe Javier‘s And the Geek Shall Inherit the Earth, Kobayashi Maru of Love and Geek Tragedies!

Man, is the list getting longer? I’m sorry! I’m carried away! How about you? What Filipino literature you’ve read? Or your favorite Filipino authors? Join our Filipino Friday Meme!

To readers, book lovers, writers, authors and publishers, don’t forget to join our First EVER FILIPINO READER CONFERENCE on September 14, 2011! TWELVE MORE DAYS!!! For more details, please visit the Filipino Reader Con website and follow @PinoyReaderCon on Twitter.

This entry was published on 02.09.11 at 2:29 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY [WEEK 4]: Do you read Filipino Literature?

  1. I forgot to include ZsaZsa Zaturnnah in my own list! I knew I forgot something!

  2. Trese and ZsaZsa Zaturnnah, yeah! ZsaZsa had me laughing out loud talaga. Sayang lang I can’t give it away to foreigner friends.

  3. you’re not reading pinoy authors? YES YOU ARE! good for you :)

  4. I echo what Aloi said. You read a LOT of Filipino authors!

  5. Hey, I forgot to mention Zsa Zsa Zaturnah! I read that way before I started the blog and I remember I really liked it. Watched the Peta musical and the movie too.

    And yes to reading Mina’s books! I recommend you start with Fairy Tale Fail. :)

Leave a Reply

