READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY: WEEK 1

Filipino Friday is a weekly meme used by Filipino Book Bloggers to discuss more about book they read, the events and happenings that affect the world of literature. For now, as a part of an upcoming event, we are using this meme to promote the upcoming The Filipino Reader Convention on September 14 and to promote the Filipino Readers.

This week, we are talking about who are we as a reader?

When I was a kid, I am really fond of reader Sweet Valley and Baby-sitters Club series. I grew up with Jessica and Elizabeth Wakefield, taken care by Kristy, Mary, Claudia, and Stacey McGill. With those series, I started looking for more in BookSale—Boxcar Children, Girls Generation, Goosebumps, etc. These books opened my eyes on adventures, how bold kids in America are and I am wanting more. Sooner, I picked up general fiction authors such as Paulo Coelho, Dan Brown, etc. I became a ‘literary snob’ then. I only read general fiction with ‘mature‘ stuff when that time I am supposed to be enjoying YA fiction. (The regrets of hurrying of grow up. Meh)

 I am easing my way to different genre, especially YA novels. I missed a lot of it when I was a teenager so I think I can make it up while I am still young. Oh why, yes, I am still young! Nothing is even wrong with reading YA novels even if you’re old old. Since we are talking about YA, I recently finished a lot of them and it’s hard to choose favorites but I really liked Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book, Stephanie Perkin’s Anna and the French Kiss, Wendelin Van Draanen’s Flipped, John Green’s Paper Towns and the heartbreaking Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. In addition to that, that makes them my favorite authors! Also, YA novels can be such a comfort to me, especially when I am feeling alone and down. Remember the twitter trend about #YAsaves? It’s true to every reader.

Maybe you’re asking what happened to the ‘mature‘ fiction books I read. I still read literary fictions as well as other book genre like Sci-Fi and fantasy, Mysteries and graphic novels. If you’re curious of what book they are, you can see them by year here: 201120102009 or add me on Goodreads. I also blog my thoughts about the books I read her in my book blog, I Write, Therefore I am Alive, and also in my Tumblr, Craptastic!

How about you? What are you as a reader? What genre do you read? Your comfort books? Favorite authors? Join our Filipino Friday Meme!

To readers, book lovers, writers, authors and publishers, don’t forget to join our First EVER FILIPINO READER CONFERENCE on September 14, 2011! For more details, please visit the Filipino Reader Con website and follow @PinoyReaderCon on Twitter.


This entry was published on 12.08.11 at 12:06 pm. It’s filed under Book Meme, In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

11 thoughts on “READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY: WEEK 1

  1. Hey Tricia, I think most girls in our generation started with Sweet Valley and Babysitters Club. Did you read the Love Stories books too? I love reading YA novels and I feel like I will never outgrow them. I discovered so many excellent YA novels when I started the blog and it did feel like I was making up for lost time. YA wasn’t a big genre before and I think it only gained popularity in the past few years. Aside from YA novels, I also love fantasy and even better when those two are combined. :)

    Yay for Stephanie Perkins and John Green! I’ve already pre-ordered Lola and the Boy Next Door and I can’t wait to read it. I’m also planning to pre-order John Green’s next book because I wouldn’t want to miss an opportunity to get a signed first edition.

    • Yea! I read Love Stories, too. I remember borrowing it from my high school science teacher and she’s really happy because I am enjoying it :) I think I will never outgrow YA, such stories are really relatable! Anyway, I plan to preorder Lola and the Boy Next Door after reading reviews (from those lucky people who received ARCs!) and they totally loved it. And yes, John Green’s, too! Who wouldn’t?!

  2. Sweet Valley FTW! Heheh. I like Dan Brown, too. His books are okay naman, I think, if you disregard the authenticity of the facts. :P I’ve only recently discovered Steve Berry; he’s fun! :)

    • Yes, Dan Brown’s novels are enjoyable to read tho some of my friends are believing what is written there. I remember researching way back 2006 while reading Angels and Demons/The da Vinci Code, it’s a fun experience to research! Hehe. I’m not familiar with Steve Berry but I’ll try to pick up some of his books. Thank you :)

  3. No one’s ever too old to read YA :) Nowadays, it seems more an indication of the age of the protagonist and the a general concern with the challenges of growing up, as opposed to being a suggestion of a recommended audience age group.

  4. I read a lot of Sweet Valley and BSC when I was in grade school too! It was like a rite of passage for a lot of girls in my school. :)

  5. Oh, I loved The Graveyard Book as well! Neil Gaiman is awesome. And Stargirl is one of my “cheer me up” read. It puts me out of the funk. :P

  6. Ah, Sweet Valley. Though that didn’t really take with me as opposed to Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys.

    You know, when I was in high school, I read grown up novels, too, and not YA. I only read YA after I graduated from college. But when I was younger, it was Sidney Sheldon and Judith Krantz for me. I don’t know if that explains how I am now.:P

  7. WOW! You read so fast. I envy you. :(

  8. Which Sweet Valley series did you follow? Because I was going to ask if you were Team Todd or Team Jeffrey, LOL. :)

Leave a Reply

