Quick Updates

 

Hi, hello! How are you guys doing lately? Have you reading your required readings or TBR books for this month? Hope you are doing fine! As for me, I’ve been sick for more than two weeks (until now) and I’m quite struggling with my readings as well as with my 12-hour hospital duties. I’m still stuck reading Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita which is I really like, not because it’s an erotica—actually, it’s not really an erotica or a ‘sex book’, it just touches the concept of a psychological sexual deviation called pedophilia—but because it’s one of the best English novels of the 20th Century! In addition to that, the mysterious narrator and the protagonist, Humbert Humbert is really funny. I may be reading it slow but I’m enjoying it.

Anyway, aside from that, I haven’t started writing the book reviews yet! Whenever I find free time, it’s either I’m reading or sleeping. Hope I catch up with writing. *sigh*

Oh, the book club I joined last year at Goodreads.com, the Filipino Group, will be having another major meet-up this July 23 (Saturday!) and it’s my FIRST TIME to attend! I’m so glad I don’t have hospital duties that day and yes, I’m totally going (if I’m not sick anymore) and I’m excited! We’ll be having special guests for the said event:

1. Mina V. Esguerra, a Filipino author of chick lit books My Imaginary ExNo Strings AttachedFairy Tale Fail and Love Your Frenemies. I’m psyched to meet her! I hope I’ll be able to read her books before meeting her. Been dying to read the books but THEY ARE SO HARD TO FIND THESE DAYS!

2. Samantha Sotto, another Filipino author of a new published book, Before Ever After. I find the book really interesting and I hope I can get a copy! (Hope I can afford it, too. Hehe). And oh, save the date, guys! There’ll be a Manila book launch and signing at National Book Store, Glorietta 5 at 6PM on July 27 (WEDNESDAY)! :D

Aside from the special guests, we’ll be having a lot of games and book wrestling! I believe I’ll come home with bags of books!

This entry was published on 20.07.11 at 11:33 am. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

