Look what’s in my Mailbox today!

When I was in the earlier years of college, I’m a general fiction genre reader. I read books of different popular/mainstream authors mostly by Dan Brown and Paulo Coelho (please don’t judge). I never read any Young Adult books because I thought I’m too old for that or I must read more mature books because I’m in college blah blah blah. And I also find YA books thin and too expensive for my wallet so I never read any YA books (and chicklits) or know anything about it. (Please don’t judge)

But the good news is, I read YA books now! You know why? Because I enjoy it a lot and I’m influenced by my book blogger friends like Tina, Aaron and Chachic for their love for YA novels! Also because of John Green (he’s awesome, you know?). So after reading a couple of YA books, I decided I should include in my list some of good titles to read and luckily a friend, Miss Celina, has an online book shop at multiply! Look at the loot I bought:

Top-to-bottom pile:

1. Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan — I read this book last year with an e-book I saw lying somewhere in the internet and I really liked it! I don’t want to feel guilty of reading illegal e-books so I got myself a copy! This calls for a re-read! Here’s my review.

2. Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen — I’ve known about this book for a long time now but never got a chance to buy a copy and it’s interesting because it has now a motion picture!

3. Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle — I know it’s not yet Christmas or it’s not snowing here in the Philippines but this is a John Green book! How could I skip this? I can’t. And by the way, John Green has a new book, Fault in our Stars and you can pre-order it on AmazonBarnes and Noble, and Book Depository. John Green will sign on your copy! (I want to pre-order too but I don’t have a credit card! Help me please!)

4. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins — Oh, my friends know how much I love this book (and of course, Etienne St. Clair) and yes, I read it before but my copy is only an e-book! No available copies in our country that time and I’m so happy that Miss Celina has one for a cheaper price (brand new, too!). Here’s my review (more like fan-girling over Etienne St. Clair).

Looks like I’m gonna abandon again the books I am reading to read these. (Oh, I forgot that I have to study my nursing books because I have hospital duties on Monday! Good luck to me!)

Update: I forgot to include here that I scored a signed copy of a book that I’ve been looking for only 45php (less than $1!)! It’s E.L. Konigsburg’s From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler:

This entry was published on 30.06.11 at 1:22 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Look what’s in my Mailbox today!

  1. Hi Tricia! Thank you again so much for your purchase.:) Up until around 2 years ago, I used to read mostly general fiction too. But after getting introduced to some great YA books, I read mostly YA now.

    I loved Anna and the French Kiss too – one of the few books I’ve read more than once. I’m looking forward to Lola and the Boy Next Door.

    Hmm, for the John Green book, isn’t it coming out in 2012 pa? I might pre-order, but probably sometime closer to its release date so that I can consolidate some purchases.:)

    • Yay! I’m not alone. Reading YA novels isn’t base on age, right? Haha! I also looking forward to Lola and the Boy Next Door, too! When I saw a picture of the books during the ALA, I was so jealous! Those lucky people can buy it there and we (the unlucky ones) will have to wait until the release which is almost 3 months away! How saddening.

      Ohhh! Lucky you! I want to pre-order too but I don’t have a credit card! Hihi Hope you can include pre-order of the book in your store so I can buy a signed copy! (he-he!)

      Thanks for the books, Miss Celina!

Leave a Reply

