Goodbye, April! Hello, May!


Hello, guys! I am truly sorry for the lack of posts last month of April, I’ve been a little busy with my part-time job as a freelance writer and I also spent lesser time on the internet! I used all my time to read books or watch movies/TV series. I read total of 6 books (quite a few, I say) for April which are:

HOLES by Louis Sachar. It sucks when you are blamed for things that you didn’t do, right? Like Stanley Yelnats, he was sent to Camp Green Lake—where you will no lake or any things that has the touch of green—for stealing a famous shoes of Sweetfeet that is for auction. He didn’t actually stole it, he’s just, uh, unlucky. Thanks to his no-good-dirty-rotten-pig-stealing-great-great-grandfather! In Camp Green Lake, they are forced to build holes in this vast space of land. This builds character as Mister Sir said but there’s more to it than digging. I love how Sachar incorporated two different stories into one, and I really enjoyed reading it. It also has a film adaptation (2003) by Walt Disney with Shia Labeouf which I also watched after reading it. I’m quite disappointed because it made the story sort-of dragging and slow. Bookmarks: 4/5

Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson. Tyler Miller is a shy kid and ‘invisible’ (nerd/misfits in high school) was submitted to a summer punishment and physical labor for doing graffiti prank. I really didn’t like the entirety of book that much but there’s part of this touched my heart: FAMILY. Miller family is almost falling apart because his dad’s an asshole for thinking himself as someone who’s high and mighty among the members of the family. He always blame Tyler for every failures his son made, even his own mistakes. In the end, both person learned their lessons. The last part is gripping and I was so engrossed of what will come next. Bookmarks: 2.5/5

Percy Jackson and The Olympians: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan. I hope I am not the last person in the whole wide world who haven’t read the series! This book has been sitting on my shelves for a year already and I am not motivated to pick it up because I already saw the film adaptation (and it is okay). But I managed to read it. Actually, it’s a GOOD read. So good because I love Greek Mythology (who doesn’t?!) and also I felt so exhausted with the left and right adventures they had!  The more I read, the more I hate the movie. Bookmarks: 4/5

Wasted by Gerry Alanguilan. I’ve been wanting to have a physical copy of this comics but Gerry Alanguilan will not produce copies anymore so I read it online instead. This is actually about Eric who wasted his life because of a failed romance with his girlfriend (who is so stupidly annoying for cheating on him) and did everything to win her back. I never read anything like it before. I can feel the pain, hatred, love in every page I turn. There’s bloodshed in shades of black and white. Goodness, his emotions are contagious, it makes me want to have a gun and just kill someone out of anger. I’m amazed of how Alanguilan did this comics and there are comments/notes below every page. You can read it HERE. Bookmarks: 4/5

Looking For Alaska by John Green. I finally have a copy of the book! I got this from a book swap from a fellow GoodReads—The Filipino Group—member, Kaye. I’m just going to give a short review on this. Meet Miles ‘Pudge’ Halter, his life has been boring, just like any misfits in high school, invisible. He’s the type of person who likes to read people’s biography and memorizes their last words. He is to transfer to a new school, Culver Creek and he met The Colonel and Alaska Young. I don’t know what to say anymore. This is one of John Green’s novels that is so heavy and heartbreaking in nature. (This is actually not a review of the book. I feel emotional and stares blankly on a space whenever I remember the story and also, I feel like my life is so shallow and insignificant when put side by side with the characters’ lives). Bookmarks: 5/5

Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan. After that heartbreaking novel, Looking For Alaska, I was needing to read something light. I’m so happy that this book has now a paperback edition. It’s about two guys named Will Grayson and their lives suck until they met each other and they didn’t know how much change they had since then. It’s a funny (hilariously) and engrossing book! I’m literally laughing on every remarks that Will Grayson (the biologically male only guy) made! How I wish that they write more collaboration together! This is now included in my list of favorite books! Bookmarks: 5/5

Above, I said that these 6 books this month is quite few because I spent almost 2 weeks reading Daniel Handler’s Adverbs and I am still not finished with it. I don’t know why, the book is a mature approach of love. It’s beautiful, really but I think this is a wrong time to read it. (Another book that I-didn’t-finish-but-I-will with the others—Pillars of the Earth, The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay.

This entry was published on 03.05.11 at 12:47 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

