Looking For JJ by Anne Cassidy

I discovered that my friend from church, Jayvee, also loves reading books and we’re like talking about the books we’ve read and liked after the church service. We started to exchange the books that we liked and I lent him my Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins and he lent me this signed book (!), Looking For JJ by Anne Cassidy. I don’t have any idea about this book and I read the synopsis of it in Goodreads. It’s interesting, actually, to read a book like this.

I liked the idea of this story of a child killer which reminds me a lot of Mary Flora Bell, who is also a child killer. The book follows a certain flow wherein the first part, Alice Tully, tackles her new life in Croydon—her boyfriend, work at a cafe, her lovable carer, Rosie— she couldn’t ask for more and her worried state when a child killer named JJ was released from her 6 years of imprisonment.  I felt kind-of sick about this part since she kept on thinking that the media might find her, and the flashbacks (which occurred more than 3 times, I think). I don’t get it why she have to be so guilty about it when she already undergone juvenile punishment for this. And if she really wanted to be unexposed from the media, she should do her best to be normal than to worry and dwell about past. She’s weak and worries too much. I was trying to know more about Alice but it looks like there’s nothing more about her than being a worrywart.

SPOILER ALERT: The second part is about the childhood this child named Jennifer Jones, or JJ. She is a confused child, always being left alone and being lied at. Her mother, who is a ‘model’, is irresponsible and egocentric. No wonder she has a disturbed childhood, but she do has friends—the annoying and bossy Michelle and the timid Lucy. They hang a lot but there’s always room for misunderstandings. That one day, JJ was so pressured about her mom’s modeling (which turned out to be something that it is not) and being pissed off at Michelle, she picked up a bat and killed her. And then she’s sent to a juvenile prison for 6 years.

Since Alice Tully was almost exposed by the media, she escaped the meet-up with her mom (which looks like the author wants to skip this situation and end the book already) and led a life with a new name, Kate Rickman. Which in the last part told us that she’s living her another new life at a University. I didn’t like it since in the first part, she’s such a worrywart about everything and then when she became Kate, all of it vanished? Like she’s a different person? And it ended just like that? I hope Cassidy wrote about JJ and her mom’s reunion which I think will make the story more interesting since her mom is, I don’t know, a bad one?

And the entirety of the story is quite unrealistic. I mean, the whole media focused on this child killer when there are more criminals that are worst than JJ? It’s sort-of ridiculous and very unforgiving (for a child not to live a new life).

Book#23 for 2011

Looking for JJ by Anne Cassidy

Bookmarks: 2.5/5

This entry was published on 30.03.11 at 3:29 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things, In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Looking For JJ by Anne Cassidy

  1. anon on said:

    This book is my favorite book, here you make it sound awful! I’d just like to say to anyone reading this, it is an amzing book and deserves more than 2.5/5! :)

    • Hello! Good for you if this book is your favorite :) if my review make it sound so awful, you have to respect my opinion about the book. Every reader has their own preferences in books. Thanks :)

  2. fran on said:

    “And the entirety of the story is quite unrealistic. I mean, the whole media focused on this child killer when there are more criminals that are worst than JJ? It’s sort-of ridiculous and very unforgiving (for a child not to live a new life).”

    Do you really think that the idea of the media focussing on her is unrealistic? You only have to see how often the press report on Jamie Bulger’s killers, and observe the horrid vigilante fascination of society to see how very very realistic that scenario is. In both this book, and the Bulger case, it’s not the fact that they’re the worst criminals in the world, it’s the fact that the victims and perpetrators were so very young, and a crime like this is so out of the ordinary (though, sadly, not at all unique).

Leave a Reply

