“There is somebody who loves me, said Despereaux. And I love her and that is the only thing that matters to me.” — Kate DiCamillo, The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread

Beautiful cover, isn’t?

I adopted a hardbound copy of Kate DiCamillo’s The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread because I’ve seen a clip of the movie on TV last year and I got so lucky for having this from a second-hand book store here in our place for P125 ($3)! I don’t know how am I going to start this but I must say I really loved this book! It’s a heartwarming and adventurous story of a mouse born with eyes open and big ears named Despereaux Tilling. He’s not like any other mice in the castle! He doesn’t like scurrying along the castle, he want to take his time and observe the beauty of the surroundings, the music and the light. One day, his brother brought him at the library to nibble book edges but he lacked the interest of being a mice, he didn’t want to and read the book instead! He read about a knight saving his Princess and he sees himself saving a Princess. Then she met Princess Pea whom he loves, was abducted by the rats and kept hidden in the dungeon and Despereaux decided that he will be the Princess’ Knight in shining armor. The brave little fellow, the cute little mice so unique and queer for not being a ‘mice’ and judged for being like that. I adore his braveness and determination to be himself and do what his hearts says! He’s so small but he can do big things!

I love how Kate DiCamillo addresses us as readers. She’s giving off the feeling that she is in front of me storytelling the adventures of Despereaux, how she asks questions to the readers, how she wants us to respond (saying ‘Quest’ out loud) and reflect on the story; and how she wants us to look into the dictionary to look for the meaning of ‘perfidy’ and ‘Chiaroscuro’. Lovely lovely lovely book! A perfect phased book that made me sit the whole night reading because every chapters’ a cliffhanger! You can’t stop until you know what’s going to happen on the next chapter! I’m like a kid while reading this book, jumping up and down, feeling happy and feeling sad. I’m all smile and light feeling after reading this. It really touched my heart.

I’d love to recommend this book to everybody!

Book#16 for 2011

The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo

Bookmarks: 5/5

This entry was published on 01.03.11 at 1:10 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

