“How many times can our emotions be tied to someone else’s – be pulled and stretched and twisted – before they snap? Before they can never be mended again?” —Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

I don’t even remember the last time I giggled and squee-d nonstop over a chick-lit book! For some reasons, I don’t read chick-lit and YA novels, in fact, I avoided it. Weird, right? I know. It’s just reading romantic scenes with gorgeous guys makes me swoon and more desperate on having a boyfriend. I fail miserably when it comes to love life.

I’ve been reading a lot of awesome reviews about this book by Stephanie Perkin’s Anna and the French Kiss. I really didn’t get it at first because 1) French Kiss on the title? No way I’m reading that and 2) the title is just not that enticing to me. But I really got curious and accidentally found an e-book lying somewhere in the internet (I KNOW IT’S A BAD THING TO DO BUT I PROMISE YOU, MS. STEPHANIE PERKINS, I AM BUYING YOUR BOOK. THERE’S NO WAY I WILL NOT. THE BOOK IS NOT YET AVAILABLE IN THE BOOK STORES THIS TIME) and decided to take little time to read it and I thought I can stop somewhere and continue when I have my copy but I was wrong! I can’t stop reading, squeeing, giggling, laughing while reading this! (OH, BTW, I FINALLY HAVE A COPY OF THE BOOK!)

It’s about this girl named Anna Oliphant from Atlanta, Georgia who is sent to Paris, France by his father to spend her senior year in School of America in Paris. At that time, she is the only new student for the whole senior year and she’s afraid of having her life in Paris alone and having new friends. Then she met Meredith who is living on the same floor of their dormitory and became friends with her, Rashmi, Josh and Etienne St. Clair. Well, I agree that girls love guys with English accent and I tell you that Etienne St. Clair is so beautiful, cool, witty, intelligent, a history geek! Anna is attached to him and became his close friend. She shrugs off the feelings she has for Etienne because he has a girlfriend! Well, she doesn’t know what to do, what’s the status of their relationship. What do you know what will happen next? I want to quote you the whole book! But I will give you this straight from Anna:

I don’t want to feel this way around him. I want things to be normal. I want to be his friend, not another stupid girl holding out for something that will never happen.

I love how Stephanie Perkins wrote this ordinary realistic story into something extraordinary! It’s your typical I-am-in-love-with-this-guy-but-I-can’t-because-he-has-a-girlfriend story but the story involves a lot of things about complicated love, friendship, teenage life, pain, family love that I, myself was moved by the story. But above all else, the story really touched and makes my heart jump. Really. I also adore how Stephanie Perkins developed her characters! No one’s left behind, even the queen bees and stupid jerks there! And what’s more, the historical places in Paris, France! Man, I am really jealous of these people who has the opportunity to live in this country! THAT’S THE ROMANTIC THING IN THIS BOOK—PARIS, FRANCE!

And. And. And. There’s no way I will forget to mention how lovely Etienne St. Clair is. Well, at first, he’s like so perfectly beautiful—the hair, the positive aura, beautiful eyes, nose, LIPS, being a history geek, ENGLISH ACCENT. Ah, my ideal man. It crossed my mind that he may be another unrealistic perfect guy that can catch any girl’s heart. It’s true he can catch every girls’ heart (he got mine) but he isn’t perfect. He has problems on his own and imperfection. It’s cool. And let me share you that I imagine this guy (Aaron Johnson) as Etienne. I mean, in the movie Angus, Thongs and Perfect Snogging, his role there as Robbie is like Etienne St. Clair minus the history geekness.

I tell you I read this book twice and it never failed me to fall in love over again. I can’t stop talking about it, I can’t stop talking about Etienne St. Clair, thinking and fantasizing about  having my own Etienne (If you follow me on Twitter, you’ll read how much I talk about Etienne). Oh God.  Until now?! I told you so, I should have not read this. Look what has this book done to me! HAHA. It took me a week to gather myself and write this book a good review but look what happened, I just talked and talked about Etienne and my nonstop giggling and squee-ing here.

Anyway, I would like to say that I would love to read this book in Etienne’s perspective. Yes, that would be lovely. Or read it in a He Said, She Said format. I just want to read each character’s point of view. If Stephanie Perkins would do that, that would send me to heaven. But I can say that Anna and the French Kiss is good enough for me.

Trivia: Do you know that this book is mentioned as one of John Green’s favorite things? 8 Things I love video on Youtube (that video made me read this book too!)

Okay, enough talking, Tricia.

Highly recommended to all girls, even the guys out there.

Book #8 for 2011

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Bookmark: 5/5

My copy: E-book

This entry was published on 02.02.11 at 4:11 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on ““How many times can our emotions be tied to someone else’s – be pulled and stretched and twisted – before they snap? Before they can never be mended again?” —Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Hello there! I just finished reading this book last night in one sitting. . .and got paid for it since I was working! Yay for easy jobs!

    But I’m so excited that someone else feels the same way. After I read it, I was just sitting there for an hour speechless at having read the most amazing book ever. -insert giggle fit-

    And I didn’t know John Green recommended this book! I probably watched this video and passed on the book because I judged the cover–what a mistake!

    And good luck with your goal of 70 books! I hope you make it! =)

    DFTBA.

  2. Pingback: “The best discoveries always happened to the people who weren’t looking for it.” — Morgan Matson, Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

  3. Sharlaine Salas on said:

    Hi there! I’ve just finished this book about a couple of minutes ago and i am so totally into etienne. Haha. Just like you and the rest of the other girls. I’d like to say congratulations for your good review. Its well-made-from-the-heart type and i do wish there’s a copy of this book here in our country, i want to have it in my hands and give justice to ms. stephanie’s work. Its my first time reading a post from yours and will now be reading rest. Hope we’ll both find our etienne (wishing in point zero). Giggles. Good luck for your future entries. I also have a blog and reading yours makes me really feel i needed to improve mine. Haha. Anyways, have a great day and year ahead!!:)

    • Hello! Thanks for the good words, dear! I wish too that we’ll have copies here because I REALLY LOVED THE BOOK and of course, Etienne :) What’s your blog url? I can drop by and see what you got there :)

      • Now i never thought we both live here in the Phils. haha. that is just awesome and small world it is. I love reading the rest of your posts, they made me eager to read more and more. I never knew that there’s a goodreads reading challenge ’til i saw it here and yes I challenged myself too. :) (thanks for that) my blog’s url is http://lavitaebellasmile.wordpress.com. I just started this month and haha it is really bare and there’s nothing to read that much. Keep on writing and i’m hoping we can conquer the challenge:))

  4. Pingback: Look what’s in my Mailbox today! « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

  5. Pingback: READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY: WEEK 1 « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

  6. Pingback: Let It Snow and The Truth About Forever « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

Leave a Reply

