Short Stories Love

I love reading books genre after genre and if you noticed that I read two books last week that are from fantasy fiction (Smoke and Mirrors) and children’s literature (Winnie the Pooh).

Who wouldn’t not know about this chubby little bear who loves Honey? I remember when I was a kid, I always watch Winnie-the-Pooh episodes/movies and read even those colorful storybooks about Winnie and the gang. As years went by, Winnie still wins in my heart, I played the Winnie-the-Pooh role-playing game on Playstation when I was in grade/high school! My favorite character is Tigger because he is so jolly and fun! But, the time I went to college, I forgot about him (*tears*). It’s a destiny for me to pick this book up when I was in a second-store in our place and I was surprised that it has a book (not the Disney adaptation), which I didn’t know. So I bought it and read it. I love how it brings back my childhood memories.

It’s about this bear, cute little bear named Edward Bear but mostly known as Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne. He’s Christopher Robin’s stuff toy and the narrator (I assume it’s A.A. Milne, because Christopher Robin is his son in real life), loves to tell stories and adventures about Winnie the Pooh and companions to Christopher Robin. It got 10 chapters and per chapter is a new adventure to Winnie and the gang, and accompanied by Ernest Shepard’s classic illustrations! Among the ten, my favorites are:

II. In which Pooh Goes Visiting and Gets Into a Tight Place – Winnie the Pooh paid a visit to Rabbit’s home under the ground (thru a rabbit’s hole) and ate too many honey and milk. When the time he needs leave to go home, he can’t. He’s stuck into the rabbit’s hole! Poor Winnie. How did he got out? SECRET! I don’t wanna spoil the funny part haha

III. In which Pooh and Piglet Go Hunting and Nearly Catch a Woozle – Winnie has been walking outside because he saw footprints on the snow. So Piglet joined him to find out whom these footprints belonged. They suspect that it is a Woozle (whatever it is, I don’t know, I assume it’s a viscious animal) and they are eager to catch it. Did they catch it? What did they discovered? SECRET again! I don’t know, but I laughed so hard about this! Winnie is such a funny bear and with a little brain.

VIII. In which Christopher Robin Leads an Expotition to the North Pole – Winnie the Pooh maybe the bear with a little brain, but he discovered the North Pole! Or which they believe that it is North Pole.

A.A Milne wrote it specially for children, I noticed how dragging and slow the narration was and it’s not applicable to my age anymore (it’s like watching Dora the Explorer, the things are obvious alright!) but it’s alright, because it’s for children. Actually, I enjoyed their adventures and also how Winnie the Pooh make things go wrong, goodness, he really cracked me up! He’s such a funny bear.

The only thing I didn’t like on this book is that my favorite character, Tigger, is missing! Maybe he’ll be there on other Winnie the Pooh books? I got my eyes on you!

Another book I read last week is a collection of short stories and illusions, Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman. I had this in my Mt. TBR for almost a year and I attempted to read it twice but I stopped. I have this love/hate relationship with short-stories collection books, for some reasons I do not know, I just don’t feel like reading them. But, this book changed my initial impression (this is unbiased given that I am a Gaiman fan) and I think I’ll read short stories from now on.

This is one of the two short stories books by Neil Gaiman (the other is Fragile Things, which I will be reading this year too) and I love how Gaiman takes his readers to many places, with mix of his own fables, myth and folklore in the form of prose, some are poems which are pleasurable to read! Gaiman is a master storyteller! I don’t know which among the short stories are my favorites but the Troll Bridge and We Can Get Them For You Wholesale stuck on me and still give me shivers! But among the stories, I enjoyed Murder Mysteries and Snow, Glass, Apples (this is a Snow White story retold!) the most! The stories are brilliant and there’s no way that none of them will stick to you all of your life.

Book #3 for 2011: Winnie-the-Pooh by A.A. Milne – Bookmarks: 3/5

Book#4 for 2011: Smoke and Mirros by Neil Gaiman – Bookmarks: 4/5

This entry was published on 17.01.11 at 2:11 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

