“Books are the ultimate Dumpees: put them down and they’ll wait for you forever; pay attention to them and they always love you back.” — Colin Singleton, An Abundance of Katherines.

I’ve been hearing a great deal about this nerdy guy named John Green for a long time and all these fellow book lovers I know are fangirl/boy-ing(?) about it. And I am really curious about this. What’s with this John Green guy? I mean, what did he offered to the readers that made them go ga-ga over his stories? So I had to read his books but book stores consistently failed me to give me copy whenever I ask (Bestseller, I think?). But wait, I got lucky when I visited Fullybooked (Mall of Asia) last week and I got the last copy of John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines! Ha-ha. I was running inside the store holding the book up with both of my hands showing everybody I have the copy – true story, man. Don’t judge me, I do this all the time.

This a good book to follow after a disappointing book like this, and it’s blisteringly funny! It’s about this guy named Colin Singleton who is obsessed (1) about being a prodigy (not a genius)1, (2) to matter to the world/people and (3) with girls named Katherine as in same letters K-A-T-H-E-R-I-N-E, not Catherine, Kat, Kathrine, etc. And actually, if you don’t know, Colin is dumped by 19 Katherines already and counting. He’s devastated by the fact that these girls (esp. the last, K-19) don’t like him because he either isn’t good enough, or too smart or too nerdy. So to move on, he and his not-a-terrorist Arab friend Hassan went to a road trip and ended up on a place called Gutshot where he is on a mission to solve his Theorem about Underlying Katherine Predictability, which helps to predict how relationship will last and finally have the girl who will love him.

Now I know what’s with John Green. He’s heck funny! Man, the book is so nerdy with all those mathematical equations, formulas and diagrams that you don’t need to be a nerd to understand because I don’t think any of us humans can understand the formula but it’s pretty. Haha funny to think because I stayed on the page trying to understand the equations (I thought I might not understand the entire story if I did not understand the math)2.

Well, see? Colin is a total nerd, geek! He thinks that formulas can help him to improve his relationships with Katherines. He really do love K-19 and he can’t easily move on with his life. I feel for you, Colin. Been there. Been there. Thank God for Hassan who is his friend who forever endured Colin’s obsessions for being a Dumpee. What would happen to Colin if his life is without Hassan? But anyway, I like Hassan! He’s so funny and chubby and lazy and cool!

‎’There’s some people in this world who you can just love and love and love no matter what.’ -Roy Walker (page 126)

Anyway, I read a handful of reviews about this book, some are negative and positive but for me, this is a lovely, witty book! I love this because aside from mathematical formulas, it has interesting footnotes3! I just love this book.

 

Book #63

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

Bookmarks: 3.5/4

———

1 Prodigies can very quickly learn what other people have already figured out; geniuses discover that which no one has ever previously discovered. Prodigies learn; geniuses do. (page 10)

2 If you really want to understand it, there’s an appendix for the mathematics. If you don’t, you can always skip it. I did.

3 You know, like this.

This entry was published on 20.12.10 at 6:05 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

