ME TALK PRETTY ONE DAY

I got this from a book warehouse in Cavite and it’s been in my TBR ever since. I really didn’t know what this book is all about – no synopsis at the back, just random praises for the book – so I just let this book rest under the book shelf for almost year and a half. What made me read this book? Actually, because it stands beside Augusten Burrough’s Running with Scissors – I remembered it to read and decided to give it a shot.

It turns out that this book is a collection of essays! So, I thought I can’t finish this book because I have a love-hate relationship with short stories/essays collection books [I don’t know why so don’t ask] but I am totally wrong about this one. It’s hilariously funny! Well, yeah, that’s what Sedaris is know of, a humorist. So this books has two sections: One and Deux. The first part [One] is about his life in a suburban area in North Carolina with his family [especially his weird father], working odd jobs in New York City [The Great Leap Forward], their house pets Melina the Great Dane and  Neil the cat [The Youth in Asia], his frustrations about arts [Twelve Moments in the Life of the Artist], his technophobia [Nutcracker.com] and my favorites, Today’s Special where he tells his distaste to the weirdness of complex food served in New York City – Raw fish in a gravy of Chocolates – which really is out of this world. Can you really call it a food? And another that really made me bananas is Big Boy where he had trouble flushing down a big turd swimming in the toilet bowl [which does NOT belong to him].

I scramble for a plunger and used the handle to break the turd into manageable pieces, all the while thinking that it wasn’t fair, that this was technically not my job. Another flush and it still didn’t go down. Come  on, pal. Let’s move it.

I can relate with this because it happened to me a couple of times! Ha-ha. I don’t want people think that I go to malls or parties just to defecate.

The next part is Deux which he talks about his life in France, Paris and London with his new boyfriend, Hugh. He also tells us his hilarious effort and struggle to communicate in French Language [hence the title, Me Talk Pretty One Day].

Reading Sedaris’ works makes me relate with him because we sort-of share some ideas and rants [i.e., weird food and potential boyfriends] and he really made me laugh my ass off. There maybe some essays that are boring or serious, but I don’t regret reading this one and this is my first ever essay collection book read. So if any of you got a chance to have a copy of this book, read it and be ready for a big laugh.

Book #45 for 2010

Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris

Bookmarks: 4/4

 

 

This entry was published on 15.10.10 at 2:03 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

