“Here comes a candle to light you to bed… and here comes the chopper to chop off your head.”

The Graveyard Book. A children-fantasy novel from the author of the best-selling book Coraline, Neil Gaiman. It received a 2009 Newbery Medal, 2009 Hugo Award for Best Novel and 2010 Carnagie Medal. [awesome, right?]

First of all, it’s October! YAY! So, in-line of this month’s event – Halloween – I got the chance to have a copy of this book for only P199 from National Book Store. I’ve always wanted to read all of Neil Gaiman’s book, I find it interesting, wicked and twisted. For the record, this is my 8th Gaiman book and I’m eager to have all of his novels, as well as his graphic novels [hold on, my wallet!].

He escaped death in the hands of this man named Jack after murdering his whole family. He found home in the presence of tombstones, shadowy figures and neither-a-man-or ghost  kick-ass guardian named Silas whom raised and protected him from the dangers of breathing people and the world they belong. Every adventure he grows from toddler to adolescent as he explored the wonderful graveyard and those vintage-y and hundred years old inhabitants as well  as  how he confronted alone his life threat with this man Jack.  He stayed all his time  in the graveyard and if he goes out, he isn’t remembered. Most of the time forgotten. Like he don’t exist at all. He’s Nobody after all. Nobody Owens, he is.

It’s a wild ride with ghosts, ghouls and humans that is awesomely accompanied by Dave McKean illustrations, which are scattered all though out the book, that never failed me to motivate to read more. I’m wrapped with the story and the idea that his kid learned things with the help of these ghosts and also saved his own butt. I can’t help it but Bod reminds me of my favorite character, Bean Delphiki [Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Shadow], that the way he deal with people/bullies are straight to the point and also learning in his own.

The ending is bitter-sweet. It broke my heart that the time came that he is going to leave, that he is going to face the world alone. I am a bit said of closing the book because I want more of Bod’s adventures.

Fear is contagious. You can catch it. Sometimes all it takes is for someone to say that they’re scared for the fear to become real.

If I’m Nobody Owens and lives in a graveyard, aside of wanting to meet my dead relatives [those great-great-great-awesome grandparents], I would definitely want to meet Frank M. Baum and J.M. Barrie and talk like tomorrow will never come.

P.S. Who do you want to meet in a graveyard?

This entry was published on 04.10.10 at 8:35 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on ““Here comes a candle to light you to bed… and here comes the chopper to chop off your head.”

  1. ivanbookworm on said:

    I also bought a copy at NBS for 199. Such a steal

  2. Pingback: READERCON FILIPINO FRIDAY: WEEK 1 « I WRITE, THEREFORE I AM ALIVE

Leave a Reply

