Happy Banned Books Week!

ALA (American Library Association) is celebrating Banned Books Week is an annual celebration of FREEDOM TO READ this September 25−October 2, 2010.

Intellectual freedom—the freedom to access information and express ideas, even if the information and ideas might be considered unorthodox or unpopular—provides the foundation for Banned Books Week.  BBW stresses the importance of ensuring the availability of unorthodox or unpopular viewpoints for all who wish to read and access them.

I never had chance to read many books as I wanted when I was a kid because more of the books I wanted are banned by my parents. Take for example the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, my mother often tells me that never ever read the books for it has a negative influence on children like me and that witchcraft and magic are works of the devil [also mentioned in the Holy Bible] and so on. So the entire 10 years of my childhood is focused on reading Sweet Valley series and missed a lot of Harry Potter books [which all of my friends are going gaga for]. Until now, it’s still banned in our house. But I managed to read the books 1-4 and in lieu of this celebrated event, I am now reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

For years of reading, I never knew [yes, I’m ignorant like that] that I’ve read and own a couple of Banned Books listed by the ALA! Like the Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Lord of the Flies by William Golding, Fountainhead by Ayn Rand, Bridge to Terabithia, by Katherine Paterson, Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White, The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold, Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Witches by Roald Dahl and even Captain Underpants series by Dav Pilkey are banned too!

Well, yeah, these books are maybe banned or challenged but they are one of the most interesting one! Read more of the list of banned books here: 1990-1999, 2000-2009

Happy reading, guys!

This entry was published on 30.09.10 at 11:32 am. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Happy Banned Books Week!

  1. koalaspenguinsdance8 on said:

    I wrote a post on this subject exactly. You should read it :) Enjoy the Harry Potter books. They are wonderful. I grew up reading them, not caring about what people said about me. I knew the difference between reality and fiction. But it’s better late than never to start reading them.

    APB

Leave a Reply

