As the Reb explains “Oh yes. It is far more comforting to think God listened and said no, than to think that nobody’s out there.”

WHAT IS FAITH?
Main Entry: 1faith
Pronunciation: \ˈfāth\
Function: noun
Etymology: Middle English feith, from Anglo-French feid, fei, from Latin fides; akin to Latin fidere to trust — more at bide
Inflected Forms: plural faiths\ˈfāths, sometimes ˈfāthz\
Date: 13th century

a (1) : belief and trust in and loyalty to God (2) : belief in the traditional doctrines of a religion
b (1) : firm belief in something for which there is no proof (2) : complete trust

Source: Merriam-Webster

I’ve been wanting to read this book since it’s release last September 2009. Due to some Obsessive-Compulsive attacks, I didn’t buy it because it is in hardbound edition. All of my Mitch Albom books are on paperback and I don’t want to ruin the consistency of his books in my book shelves. I got this last Manila International Book Fair where I immediately grabbed, paid for it and read it as soon as got home. Well, yeah, I am expecting a lot of lessons to be learned there just as much I learned to his other books.

It’s about a true story of two great men that moved me about FAITH I’m holding on for years. Just like many other Christians/believers, I did have ups and downs, backsliding moments and struggle in my faith. I did took up Sunday School, Bible studies and religious activities at church but I did it because I am told to do it by my parents and because it is expected of me to do it [since my parents are one of the leaders at our church]. I never got to think about deeply what this faith is all about. I lived my life more like blind obedience, blind faith. But years passed by, my course of finding what’s the real meaning of faith – I found it in the Bible [of course, nothing beats the Bible!], plus meeting awesome people of God and more personal devotion, I found the light that directs my path. The more I dwell into it, the more faith goes stronger. 

In this book, I marveled how the goodness of these two people, the Reb Albert Lewis and Henry Covington, that they are used as an instrument of GOD which led to changes in their lives, as well as other people’s lives – believers or not. Although they are of different religion [One’s Jewish, the other one is Christian], it’s not a hindrance of sharing people what is faith all about. We serve one God. Moreover, their lives taught me how God works in different people [bad or good people], take Henry Covington’s story – he is a crack addict, a criminal – and that life he lived makes his future blurred but what happened? Although many times he ignored God’s calling, God still want him to be changed. That night that he confessed and bargained, ‘Will you save me, Jesus?’, you will see how this amazing God transformed a life of a crack addict and a criminal to be a leader of a church/ministry. ‘You’re not your past!‘ says Henry Covington during one of his sermons.

I experienced this kind of transformation – in the life of my own father. Yes, he is a shabu-meth addict/dealer since he was in high school. He live his life with his vices until he had his own family [us] but it never stopped. My mom struggled on how to keep this family together when it is falling apart. We sent him to rehabilitation centers but it never worked. He still dwell with his thing. But you know what? He changed. God changed him. I saw how God worked in his life, in our family. How? We brought him to church, a lot of pray overs happened. It looks simple but no, this is one of the biggest transformation happened through prayers.  God is present in our lives. God is here. God answers prayers! He is sober for more than 10 years now, and he’s one of the leaders in our church. God is awesome, right?

This story has a great impact on the lives of the people Albert Lewis and Henry Covington met, as well as Albom’s life and also me – who never met any of these people – they also gave an impact on my life and my faith.

“Everybody should read it.” -Hoda Kotb, People, Top Ten Books of 2009

Book #37 for 2010

Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom

Bookmarks: 3.5/4

This entry was published on 30.09.10 at 1:34 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

