Ess Muss Sein!

I haven’t updated this blog for such a long time. So last week I finished reading three books which are The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, Catching Fire (a re-read) and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

I got my copy of the book, The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera, from a book swap with an online blogger named Zet Diaz. I swapped it with the book she chose – The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau. Out of her three books, I chose this book because I’ve been interested to read Kundera as recommended by Elaine, my friend and a Philosophy student, and my first Kundera book is Immortality but unfortunately, I was too busy (you know, school) too appreciate the good book and never finished it. I gave my copy to Elaine because she uses it for her thesis.

I had difficulty to read this because this is a sort-of a heavy read for me with all those unfamiliar words and profound philosophical thoughts that made me realize that I’m such a very shallow person. But as I go on with reading this, I appreciated how Kundera used third person and is able to reach out with the readers of what is going on with the minds of the characters, how they feel and how agonized with the situation they are in. He tells the story to the readers like he’s directly talking to me, like we’re friends, about this thing called LOVE. Basically, the book is a LOVER’s story, coincidence or fate that brought two person, a light-hearted womanizer and an insecure woman, who fortuitously drawn to each other when they met  in Prague and learned which to do, to go against his values or to involve self more emotionally?

What happens but once, might as well not have happened at all. If we have only one life to live, we might as well not have lived at all.”

The last book of the Hunger Games Trilogy was released here in the Philippines last August 25, 2010 and all of the Hunger Game fans rushed to their favorite bookstores to pick up the book and shut their self to the world to read. But me, I was still re-reading Catching Fire the time I picked it up. I’m excited but I have the feeling that I don’t want the series to end! Especially when you are attached to the characters – Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Meelark!

Mockingjay is a heavy read. Yes, it’s full of killings and death of people there (left and right!) and I feel happy to what happened in the end, but I totally hate it when one of my favorite characters died just like that! But anyway, I love the trilogy since Collin’s used the first person that we can access to the thoughts of Katniss and other characters. With the three books, Mockingjay is my least favorite, because the series end there and so much for war, killings and morbidity. and then, Catching Fire is my most favorite one, because it balances the morbidity with love (of friends and family) but overall of the series, it’s one of the best series I’ve read so far.

‘You’re the mockingjay, Katniss. While you live, the revolution lives.’

I don’t want to go further telling you the story because I don’t like spoilers. I read one when I was still reading the book and I feel so frustrated! So here, I’m totally recommending you this series and you will totally love this!

Book # 34-35 for 2010

The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

Bookmarks: 2.5/4

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Bookmarks: 3/4

This entry was published on 03.09.10 at 1:27 pm and is filed under In Which I Think About Random Things. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

