Promises are Meant to be Broken

After two consecutive whole months of house arrest and book-buying abstinence, I’m able to buy one book yesterday! Hurrah! I’ve promised myself and been trying so hard not to buy unnecessary books lately because I’m saving up my money and gift certificates this coming Manila International Book Fair this September 15 – 19, 2010 • 10:00 AM – 8:00 PM, SMX Convention Center! An event for book readers, book hoarders and bookworms!

So the other day, I visited a BookSale branch near our village. They have new stocks of books! Man, I was so disappointed because they have new good books and I want to buy! Too bad I didn’t brought any money with me that time! I asked my mom for some coins but she said a big fat NO. She told me that I have to many books blah blah blah. I went home feeling gloomy and disappointed.

Then yesterday, I came back! I remembered that I bought a book (Ramona the Pest by Beverly Cleary) before and I decided to swap it back because I already have a copy of it in Cavite! So I have with me a previously bought book and swapped it with this book, Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card! And also bought two Spongebob Squarepants Bookmarks! I really dig Spongebob and its a good thing to buy another bookmarks because my two previously bought bookmarks are already worn-out and wrinkled.

I’m not much really keen about geekery-sci-fi books, but I read a couple (I think) and I read a nice review of a book under the same author (Ender’s Game) by Carina Santos’ book blog The Rescue so I decided to give it a shot to read again some sci-fi books.

But the time I got home, I panicked because I didn’t realized that Ender’s Shadow is different from Ender’s Game! I was like doomed because I have to buy Ender’s Game before I read Ender’s Shadow! But then, I was relieved when I read the Author’s note that it is NOT a SERIES! So there’s nothing to worry about.

Hope to find the rest of Card’s books!

This entry was published on 20.08.10 at 1:40 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

