All that is gold does not glitter…

All that is gold does not glitter,

Not all those who wonder are lost;

The old that is strong does not wither,

Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes of a fire shall be woken,

A light from the shadows shall spring;

Renewed shall be blade that was broken,

The crownless again shall be king.

-from the letter to Frodo from Gandalf.


Too much of Lord of the Rings, eh? The book is amusing. I am fascinated with the idea of hobbits, elves and wizards. JRR Tolkien made a really classic novel about the middle-earth and its legendary stories.

Its movie, I remember, I watched it with my parents at SM and I did not understand the whole thing even a bit. It rather confused me who the hell is that white beard man, those fugly-ugly talking trees, that blondie Legolas, etcetera. Though all of the three novels of LOTR was made into a motion picture, I didn’t understand it. Because, I dozed off while watching it. Too long, I say.

I read the prequel of the LOTR, The Hobbit, the story about Bilbo Baggins and his quest with dwarves (Thorin & Co.), meeting wolves, eagles, spiders and Smaug the dragon. Great Novel. So I bought LOTR book 1 and it is indeed great too. Adventure it says to me. Now, I understand Frodo’s quest with Sam, Merry and Pippin; and the fellowship of the ring. :)

As I read the book, I wonder what the characters look like (except Frodo, Gandalf, Sam, Merry and Pippin) and what is the exact picture of the places (i.e, Shire, Bree, Prancing Pony). I am really curious of what Goldberry (Tom Bombadill’s wife, the River-Daughter) looks like. She was described beautifully in the book. :) Wearing a green dress shot with silver and a gold belt.

GOLDBERRY

Credits: LINK

All that is gold does not glitter, says the passage. So meaning, Goldberry does not glitter? Just kidding. I am halfway to the end and I am looking forward for more adventures for Frodo and the gang. :)

This entry was published on 08.06.09 at 11:40 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Think About Random Things, In Which I Write About Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

