“Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” ― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

In the year 2011, John Green announced via his Tumblr blog that he is having a new book to be released the next year, 2012. It was the most anticipated book in the YA blogosphere and the nerdfighteria. People are waiting and waiting what will the book is all about, they even made different covers for the book when the synopsis and title was announced! I can say I was part of this fandom that waited and spent most of my time online reading articles related to John Green. LOL

I don’t deny the fact that I read and love all John Green’s books, but this latest book, I didn’t like that much (like I did with Paper Towns). Plot-wise, I love it, because it’s so heartbreaking. There isn’t more heartbreaking about lives that is going to its end because of some terminal disease they have. Well, it’s the reality. I don’t get to read books like these, because to be honest, I rarely see one. The story is about two kids with terminal cases of cancer, and yep, CANCER. This book might show you how people lived their lives despite the knowledge that they are going to die sooner or later. I can’t remember how many times I felt the heaviness in my heart. I met a lot of cancer patients in the hospital’s oncology before when I was still a student nurse. It took a lot of effort on them to survive. Not just effort, but also money, time, and tears. Some of them survive, some of them don’t. It’s the reality.

You know, this book is somehow different from the previous works of Green. No more gorgeous babe and two nerds in the story. It’s also in a female POV! It’s quite new to me and somehow having difficulties reading the book (even if I’m a girl). I appreciated Hazel Grace’s character. She accepted the reality of her health condition and she doesn’t want to be a grenade that will mark and hurt the people when she die. What a selfless person, isn’t she? And Gus? He’s so adorable and geeky. He’s something you want to be friends with (or if you like, be a boyfriend) because he is so optimistic about everything. He looks also geeky cute, too.

What I didn’t like about this book is that I never appreciated the in-depth philosophy Green is trying to tell me. I find it sort-of pretentious. I mean, the universe-thing. I know it’s cool that the characters THINK and have INSIGHTS about life and everything, but I fail to connect the importance of it to the story, to Hazel, to Gus, to the cancer itself, or at least to me. Like what Hazel said [SPOILER ALERT] in the book: “We live in a universe devoted to the creation, and eradication, of awareness… He died after a lengthy battle with human consciousness, a victim-as you will be-of the universe’s need to make and unmake all that is possible.”

I know Green based the book with Shakespeare’s Julius Caesar; “The fault, dear Brutus is not in our stars, / But in ourselves, that we are underlings.”; Maybe there is a deeper meaning Green is trying to tell his readers, but I didn’t bother to find and understand what is it when I read it (DON’T JUDGE). I liked some, and there are times, I don’t. A re-read is needed, I guess?

I like the story, it made me cry and feel sad, but it’s okay, not totally groundbreaking or whatever. Anyway, I got myself a copy with John Green’s squiggles using a green Sharpie :)

This entry was published on 15.03.12 at 12:08 pm. It’s filed under In Which I Write About Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on ““Some infinities are bigger than other infinities.” ― John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

  1. THIS. This forever. All the deep thoughts about the universe threw me off, but the story was amazing. As was all the characters. Re-reading it in a couple of months.

    Also, I read Looking for Alaska a couple of years ago and I really didn’t like it. It was so averagely dull. But I’m ready to give it another try, just to see if I’ve matured just a wee bit (ha! as if) and I like it better now. Maybe you could give me your opinion on whether to do that or not? Because, let’s be honest, it’s not as if my TBR list is getting shorter by the day.

    With lurve,
    Frederikke (your green squiggle-sister)

    • Hello, Frederikke!

      I would love to re-read TFIOS, but the state of my TBR is not okay with it. :) I liked Looking For Alaska even if it’s so depressingly sad. I didn’t put too much thoughts about it before. You should try reading Paper Towns! I love that book :)

      • Hi again!

        I think re-reading books isn’t an option when you’re a blogger. Don’t you?
        Okay, thanks, I won’t re-read it any time soon then. :)
        Oh! What a coincidence! Just after I finished TFIOS I bought Paper Towns. It’s here on my desk with me right now, just waiting for me to pick it up… ;)

      • Hello, Frederikke!

        Re-reading is okay, it depends on the reader :) I re-read, too, especially when I really love the book.

        YAY for Paper Towns! You should read it, like, right now!

  2. may i qualify regarding the title of the book? yes, it is based on Shakespeare’s line the fault is not in our stars dear Brutus, but in ourselves,that we are underlings.. but what Green is trying to say is that he is debunking Shakespeare’s philosophy. To Shakespeare, we are the masters of our fate and whatever circumstance we may encounter is a consequence of our doings. To Green, it is ‘the fault in our stars.’ In other words, the world is too unfair and cruel. I hope you got the point. I’m very excited to see the film adaptation!

    • Hi, Oh Kloyde! Thanks for commenting :) Regarding about that passage, I already knew that. It’s pretty obvious. What I am trying to say is that there is something more about what is Green is talking about (or he’s telling me something) but will all those philosophical quotable quotes he has, I find it quite confusing and sort-of pretentious.

      I haven’t re-read the book again but I will once the said future film adaptation comes. I think I am more mature to figure out what Green is telling me.

  3. your the first person i’ve met who doesnt like it, but thats good. because people have different opinions.
    i think the connection between Hazel and our views on the universe are that hazel is never goin to have the chance to see more of the developments in technology. shes coming up with these theories, for example, “some infinities are bigger than other infinities” because thats all she has left- time to think.
    i also think that hes trying to show that although things absolutely suck, there are bigger things going on, and we’re just a spec in the universe.
    Just my opinion though, i enjoyed reading a different view on it.

    • Hi, Alice! Thanks for visiting my blog. It’s not that I do not like TFiOS. I do not NOT like it. I like it but there are things that I wasn’t able to understand or appreciate in the first read.

  4. Pingback: The Fault In Our Stars | I Like It Dog-Eared

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

